I graduated in 2012 & would my father be able to get forgiveness as well and if so does he need to file separately or can I do it all together. NOTE: This is the official Government website for the program, so you can trust it. But is it too little too late? An attorney representing borrowers stressed that further delaying the settlement would have negative consequences for borrowers needing debt relief. Below is the reality, I have attached a recent pay stub from April 2019, The hourly rate is $12 an hour. I go through that process in the content of this post, so make sure you read through the whole thing, and pay careful attention to the BDAR eligibility, application and approvals pieces. Therefore, if your college closed down before you get the chance to finish your education, you may be eligible for this discharge program. If I had accurate information about their fees and how these loans really worked I would have never agreed to borrow any money to pay for their education program. I read the guidelines for the Closed School discharge, and think I actually can apply for it. Does she need to file an application as well, or will mine do it for both? Follow the explanations in my Guide on which details to include in your application and you will have the best chance on getting your discharge approved. CLICK HERE to visit our "Frequently Asked Questions" webpage, The official 'Borrower Defense to Repayment Guidebook', Borrower Defense claims from other students who already received a discharge, Step-by-step instructions (with illustrations) of how to complete the Borrower Defense to Repayment application, Resources that will help you obtain documentation. My son attended the Art Institute of Dallas at a time when it wasnt an academically accredited institution which they lied about. Theres definitely a chance of getting your loans forgiven, but youll have to put together a much stronger legal case than what you outlined here. And of course the balance has pretty mu